A Multi-Dimensional Problem

An opinion piece on #StopAsianHate

Christy
6 min readMar 19, 2021

With the unfortunate incidents receiving news coverage this past year, it’s difficult not to be at least slightly bothered by them. While it is not entirely new, these events have sparked discussion. Again and again, people are being mistreated. These acts range in severity from verbal harassment to physical abuse, including murder. What do these cases have in common? The victims often belong to a minority group that was historically considered inferior, whether it is based on racial or gender identity. In some instances, members from the elderly population are targeted because they cannot defend themselves, or in other words, are seen as weak. Keep in mind that in addition to these stories, there are a lot more that we don’t know about. This injustice is not occurring only in the US but also worldwide. It was already occurring in Asian communities pre-COVID, but was exacerbated during the pandemic. According to a report by Statistics Canada in July 2020, the frequency of race-based harassment or attacks perceived by visible minorities increased since the start of the pandemic [1]. In Vancouver, the number of reports of anti-Asian hate crimes increased by 717% from 2019 to 2020 [2].

Just because we do not hear or see it on the news does not mean it is not serious. Just because it may be part of someone’s everyday life does not make it acceptable.

The surge in racist attacks has prompted the (re)surfacing of many personal stories, some from pre-COVID. It’s unfortunate that so many people had to be hurt before a safe space was created for people to come forward and speak out instead of brushing it under the rug. Does it really come at the cost of 8 lives (and more from the past) to bring this to the forefront, spur conversations, and put pressure on governments to create policies that protect their people? I will be referring to the Atlanta shooting in this piece because it is a recent incident that most people are likely aware of. This is not to diminish the stories of previous victims. My heart goes out to all the people and their families who have been affected.

Illustration of an Afro Latina woman and hijabi Arab woman embracing an East Asian woman. It reads “Stop Asian Hate”. Credit: instagram.com/shirien.creates

I have seen countless, vehement posts and comments filled with hate and rage, for example, against white supremacy. The shooting in Atlanta stirred up something in me, compelling me to write this piece. It can be easy to driven by emotions, like anger, pain, passion, etc., all of which I think is very valid. That being said, I tried to remain level-headed. It is not in my position to judge someone’s beliefs. While I may not understand people with racist thoughts, I can somewhat tolerate them. I realize that what I just said may sound crazy, but hear me out. I don’t care too much about what someone thinks, if they keep those thoughts to themselves. However, this is rarely the case. More often than not, this prejudice is expressed vocally or reflected in discriminatory acts, which becomes a problem. That is something we can all agree on, without question, regardless of the intention.

We should not feel scared to go outside because of our identity. The recent incidents in the news are instilling fear in people. This is NOT normal.

As I read through the news articles to get the full picture of the Atlanta shooting, I kept thinking, “why?” I was baffled when I got to the part about his motive: to “eliminate temptation” due to his “sexual addiction” (reported in several news sources including the New York Times). In my mind, I thought, “Clearly, he has very poor problem-solving skills.” I want to make it clear that I’m not steering this away from it being an anti-Asian hate crime, but rather hoping to offer an additional layer for people to think about. This story sheds light on numerous systemic failures, which I won’t dive into here. Quite disappointing, but there is hope for reform. My post is by no means comprehensive; otherwise it would be super long. My intention here is not to discuss whether this is a racism or just a coincidence that six out of the eight victims are Asian American women because there is plenty of information about that already circulating on the Internet, and I encourage you to take some time to read those.

This not necessarily specific to the Atlanta shooting, but I do want to briefly mention that the home and school environments are crucial to a child’s development, including adequate love and support for optimal physical and mental health. This may seem obvious, but a child’s upbringing can provide clues for the adult they become. For example, if intergenerational trauma and adverse childhood experiences are not addressed, they can significantly and negatively affect how someone thinks and behaves. Furthermore, I think that children should not be exposed to gun violence from a young age.

I’m not trying to come up with excuses to justify the perpetrator’s behaviour. Instead, I’m thinking more along the lines of how similar situations can be prevented in the first place. We need to understand that we live in an interconnected world where our actions affect others, in both good and bad ways. We can make others happy just as easily as we can make others sad, sometimes without our awareness.

The world we call home should be a safe place. If you don’t resonate with what I’m saying, it’s okay but I hope you support us, or at least realize your privilege.

In terms of noticing and calling out microaggressions, the way you do it matters. It’s not enough to just tell someone to stop because they likely will not. It’s more effective to educate them. I hope you take the time to explain to them how it is an issue. You may be surprised that they might not realize it’s problematic because that was the “norm” for them growing up. If no one told them it’s wrong, it reinforces the behaviour. If they get away with something minor, it’s possible they may push the boundaries. Try to be gentle and forgiving. Change is difficult. Don’t give up; people may benefit from reminders. Acknowledgement is the first step. Moreover, I’m glad that those who have a voice are using it. I especially appreciate celebrities and companies who speak out because they genuinely care rather than because they feel pressured to.

“Coronavirus’s Unearthing of Anti Asian Racism” by Tina Gong | Credit: instagram.com/yankodesign

If you’ve gotten to this point, thank you for so much for reading this and allowing my voice to be heard. I have many deadlines, but this was important enough for me to take a break from my tasks to write down my thoughts on this topic. Feel free to share with anyone whom you think may find this interesting. I’ll end with a quote:

“The world changes when we change. The world softens when we soften. The world loves us when we choose to love the world.” –Marianne Williamson

The world sometimes seems like a dark and scary place, especially during this past year, but I know there are many good people out there. We are very quick to label something as good or bad. Consequently, our world is becoming more polarized. This shouldn’t be about choosing sides. This shouldn’t be about being right or wrong. We should be able to coexist with differences in opinions. The world needs more love ❤ I believe there is hope. Let’s focus on what we can control.

Reminder: Check in on your friends. Consider donating if you can. Educate yourself and others. There are many excellent resources out there. I haven’t linked in this post because I don’t have the time right now to do the research. With anything you read, please do so with a critical lens. Don’t automatically assume something is factual unless it’s cited, and even then, it’d be a good idea to check the source.

--

--